Go Gutsy

Hi lovey’s, it’s Friday night and here I am blogging lol oh, what a life!  I was exhausted from the week and just really wanted to relax.  So, I saw The Ex last night.  No, no, no the heart has NOT won out in the great Heart vs. Head battle.  He is managing a new restaurant and invited me and a couple friends to come in for dinner so we went.  He was working so nothing too interesting to share, except those damn butterflies made an appearance.  However, the more I think about it, the more convince I am that it is not worth it to start up anything with him again.  More on that later…

First I wanted to share this article that was the topic of conversation on the Z Morning Zoo the other day.  These are the Five Risks Every Gutsy Girl Should Take (they found this in the October issue of Cosmo):

1. FALL IN LOVE; REALLY SEIZE IT. THE GUY PROBABLY WON’T BE THE ONE. BUT THAT’S HOW YOU LEARN WHO YOU ARE.

It definitely take guts to open yourself up to another person and give in completely to love.  It’s always a risk… you are giving someone a precious thing- your heart and trusting they will not break it.  But it’s definitely a risk worth taking.  Love can hurt like hell but it can also be the best feeling in the world.

2. BE YOURSELF ESPECIALLY IN A RELATIONSHIP. WE STILL LIVE IN THE SEXIST WORLD WHERE WOMEN OFTEN TWIST THEMSELVES INTO WHAT THEY THINK A MAN WANTS IN ORDER TO HAVE HIM. PUT YOURSELF BEFORE PLEASING A GUY AND YOU’RE MORE LIKELY TO FIND THE GUY WHO’S RIGHT.

So freakin true.  I think its easy to get caught up in what we hope a situation is or what we WANT it to be.  Sometimes we change ourselves to try to make our fantasy become reality.  I believe, and this might just be the optimist in me that has been shining through lately, that when it’s true love there will be no twisting needed. 

3. MAKE A FIRM PLAN TO MOVE OUT OF YOUR COMFORT ZONE. SAY I’LL WORK THIS ENTRY LEVEL JOB FOR TWO YEARS, AND THEN, NO MATTER WHAT, I’M MOVING ON.

It is so easy to get caught in a routine, to stay in something that is comfortable, safe.  Not just with jobs but with relationships too.  When I took my current entry level job, I knew that this was just my starting point.  I knew that this was not going to be my life career and I constantly reminded myself to not get so comfortable that I stay just because I’m scared to leave my comfort zone.  The longer I’m there, the more comfortable I get but this was a good reminder to maybe set a goal of when I’d like to move onto the next step.

4. TRY EVERYTHING YOU FIND INTERESTING, EVEN IF IT’S QUIRKY OR ODD. WHEN I WAS 20, I SIGNED UP FOR TAP DANCING CLASS AT CARNEGIE HALL. IT WAS FULL OF 12 YEAR OLDS BUT I’D ALWAYS WANTED THEM.

There’s many things that I have yet to try and sometimes I do ask myself, what am I waiting for?  Now is the time..

 5. DARE TO ASK, WHAT IS MY PURPOSE HERE? YOU MIGHT NOT BE ABLE TO ANSWER IT, BUT YOU’LL LEARN A LOT IN THE PROCESS.

So, ever since I heard about this list, I have been thinking about what it means to be a Gutsy Girl.  I think wanting to go back to The Ex is a little bit of the easy solution to feeling lonely.  I think the gutsy thing to do is to be alone and learn to be happy with that.  Don’t get me wrong, I feel like there are still strong feelings left between The Ex and I but deep down, I KNOW that nothing has really changed and we will fail for the same reasons we failed before.  Sometimes, it takes guts to NOT just go with the easy solution.

Oh and P.S. I might possibly be at the same party as The Ex tomorrow night which hopefully he won’t attend because I’m pretty sure the alcohol would make my Gutsy Girl thinking go a littleeee fuzzy. 

 

** Now, don’t be shy.. tell me what YOU think makes a “Gutsy Girl” or share a story about when YOU were one! **

 

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under All Things Listy, Random Thoughts, The Ex

4 responses to “Go Gutsy

  1. so, i feel like i could have written this same post. im going to be at a party tonight where i think my ex (the one i wrote about to you the other day on here, that i also struggle head vs heart with) might be there.

    also, do you think that you too, might be a little andy garcia? you said that you know that some things with him haven’t changed, and won’t change. and also, like you said in number 2- in the right relationship, you wont need to change or twist things. it will just fit.

    good luck tonight, and have a good weekend!

  2. Nat

    This post was just what I needed to read today. Thanks. They are all points that I really am trying to live by and do at the moment.

  3. About 8 years years ago, I managed to fall in love with a male friend of mine. I had feelings for him for the longest time (#1), but I didn’t have the confidence to truly be myself around him (#2). When I finally told him, he said he did not feel the same way about me. Later, he told me my lack of openness was frustrating.

    It was at that point I realized I had not been true to myself. I was so afraid of rejection, that I had withheld the best parts of me. I was shocked to learn that my behavior was hurtful to HIM. My behavior hurt both of us and ultimately weakened our friendship.

    The good news is that and I took that lesson to heart. Now I understand that the only way things MIGHT work out is if I am myself.

  4. kkt8

    I agree with Nat and this post is exactly what I needed today!! I think my being a Gutsy Girl is obvious, I just walked away from the easy life to make it on my own and hopefully meet someone who really loves me the way I want to be loved. The part in your post about not changing who you are to be what you think a man wants is what spoke to me the most. I’m such an independant spirit, I feel shocked at how much I changed to be what I thought my exfiance wanted me to be. It happened so slowly and subconsciously that I didn’t even realize it for a LONG time. I hope your weekend went well, I’ll be interested to read your next post about what happened!!

Leave a Reply

