As If!

It’s almost 1pm and I’ve barely even gotten out of bed today :).  Clueless is on right now – I still love this movie.  When I watch it now, I realize all the jokes that went totally over my head when I used to watch it when I was young (I must have been 10 or 11 the first time I saw it).  One of the best lines of the movie:

Amber: “Ms. Stoeger, my plastic surgeon doesn’t want me to do any activity where balls fly at my nose.”
Dionne: “Well, there goes your social life.”

Ha, think I missed that one when I was younger.  Also, missed a lot of the drug references and when they smoke a joint at the party in the valley I’m pretty sure I thought it was a ciggarette. 

This movie started so many trends – my favorite was knee highs! I loved wearing knee highs and I thought I was so cool when I did, heh.  I remember my outfit for the first day of sixth grade was black knee highs with a jean skirt and this mock turtle neck gray striped short sleeve shirt and I thought I was just the cutest thing ever and just like Cher.  It’s a little embarassing to admit but my friends and I definitely adopted the Clueless slang too – especially using “whatever” and “as if” as much as possible.

Interesting fact:  Stacy Dash, the actress who played Dione was almost 30 when she made this movie!  She was almost 30 playing a 16 yr old girl, that is crazy. 

I had a friend who didn’t see this movie until she was in college and then she was a little underwhelmed by it.  She was totally weirded out by the fact that Cher ends up with her ex step brother.  I admit it’s a little weird but it seems like they were only step brother and step sister for a short time.  They aren’t related, it doesn’t seem like they grew up together either.  So I don’t know, it doesn’t really bother me but she couldn’t get over it.  I also think part of the reason I love the movie so much is because it reminds me of being a silly 12 year old wearing knee highs and saying as if and thinking it was the coolest thing ever.

Anyways, I think it’s finally time to get out of bed and get moving.  I’m going to my friend’s house for her birthday dinner and then I have a party at another friends house.  The Ex will be there but hopefully there will be no drama, no tears, no throwing shoes.

Have a good weekend bloggy buddies!! xo

9 Comments

Filed under Life as a Couch Potato, Random Thoughts

9 responses to “As If!

  1. ‘St. Elmo’s Fire’ was the movie of my generation. I still remember seeing it with my girlfriends when I was 17.

  2. I’ve seen parts of this movie but never the whole thing. I think I need to remedy this. Pronto!

  3. Oh man, I loved this movie when it came out! I still think of it every time I hear the word “sporadically”, haha. I’m also pretty sure I missed all the sexual jokes- right over my head. I loved her closet though. It was awesome.

  4. longredcape

    I missed some of the drug references the first few times I saw it, too. I was always confused when the stoner guy donated his bong to the Pismo Beach relief thingy and Cher goes, “kitchenware?” — I was like WTH is that? And then he talks about the 12 steps. Totally went over my head. And it also took me a few years to realize Billie Holliday was actually a woman and Cher says, “I love him.” Hah!

  5. laylou

    I still love Clueless, all the years later. I, too, must have been no more than 10 or 11 when I first saw it and looking back I didn’t understand all the jokes either. This movie started my faux love affair with Paul Rudd. I heart him. The Clueless soundtrack is timeless… I still listen to it and scream at the top of my lungs to select songs with the windows down. Ah, the younger days. I rather miss them.
    You have inspired me to watch this movie again. Tonight, perhaps. Thanks, Little Miss!

  6. I have to admit, I saw Clueless on TV a few weeks ago and I promptly cancelled my errands and sat on the couch and enjoyed. This brings back so many memories. The fashion, the music, ahhhh sigh.

  7. Krys

    Aw, Clueless!!! Let me tell you, this movie defined several years of my life! My girlfriends and I must have watched it 8000 times over a couple year period. We all rocked the knee-highs and the saddle shoes, and the baby barrettes and drooled over “skater boys”. HAHA!!! Oh, Little Miss, this was a good post!! Brought back some great memories!!!

  8. hurtin4certain

    Romy and Michelle. Another one to watch again…

  9. god i haven’t seen this movie in so long- i loved it!

Leave a Reply

