Rewind…

I found my old blog today from two years ago (which had a whopping four entries in it).  I was 21 and in my Senior year of college.  I really wanted to share this one entry because it still rings very true two years later.

November 6, 2006

I think Cosmo was thinking of me when they wrote this article about the stresses of life as a 20-something. Let me begin by saying, I enjoy being 21. I do. Some of my friends freak out and think we are old already but I don’t like to look at it that way. I think this is a wonderful age and I plan on enjoying it to the fullest extent. We are still living off our parents a little like when we were in high school but now they have a lot less control of us. We’re legally allowed to drink, none of us are married yet and we still have plenty of time to play. I have the best friends and I like that I am still young enough to be a little irresponsible. I can stay out late, all night if I want, and it’s okay. Your only young once and there’s no reason to hurry up the whole growing up process.

All that considered, I do agree that the 20’s are definitely a very confusing and stressful time. I only have a vague direction in life right now. People ask us all the time where we see ourselves in 5 years.. the truth is I have no idea. I couldn’t even tell you where I”ll be in ONE year. I might be in Grad School or I might have a full time job in NYC. I really don’t know. It excites me and terrifies me all at the same time. I think thats what your 20’s are all about. They’re about finding yourself and sometimes that means winding up in unexpected places doing things you never considered.

Back to COSMO.. Heres the 5 turmoils of being a 20-something in this day and age from the article..

#1 “I have no idea what my calling is.”
Sometimes I feel alone in this one. Most of my friends know what they want to be. Actually its the same for almost all of them, teachers. But that’s not me, I don’t want to be a teacher. Maybe it’s trickier for me because I chose a field (marketing) not really a profession. I mean, you don’t get a degree in teaching and then really have to think too hard about what your going to do with that. You basically just have to decide what grade and/or what subject. Marketing is a little more broad, you can market anything for all different types of companies. But I’m scared I’ll never find a job I’m passionate about. That’s really important to me. I want to love my job, maybe not my first job, but the job I settle into. So I definitely understand this statement but I guess thats what your 20’s are for. Exploring your options and figuring out what it is that makes you happy.

#2 “I’ve never been in a long term relationship.”
Oh god, don’t even get me started on this one. I am single, and so are a bunch of my girlfriends. At 21 years old it is VERY difficult to meet nice guys who want a relationship. But sometimes you can’t help but think there’s something wrong with yourself. The truth is the dating scene is different now than it was for our parents. Growing up we always heard of people meeting their future spouses in college. Nowadays, your lucky to find a boy who even wants to spend the money to take you out on one lousy date. Its sad but true. College is now all about the casual no strings attached hookup relationships. For girls looking for a relationship and love, it just really sucks. And yes I know there are exceptions to every rule, some girls luck out and find boyfriends but that usually happens the first couple weeks of freshman year.

#3 “How long will I be emotionally dependent on my parents?”
I thought this one didn’t really apply to me until I read the blurb about it. I call my parents for everything, I’ll admit it. I call my mom when I need advice on school, internships, life decisions. I call dad when anything goes wrong with my car, computer or anything else electronic. Well I guess I can thank Cosmo for pointing out something I didn’t stress about before but now I might have to add to the list.

#4 “Paying the bills keeps me in a constant state of panic.”
I don’t pay my own bills yet. But I’m sure this one isn’t too far away..

#5 “Am I ever going to have the life of a real adult.”
I don’t really have this issue… I’m in no rush to be a real adult.. 🙂

9 Comments

Filed under Boys are Dumb, Random Thoughts, Reminiscing, single life, This is my life

9 responses to “Rewind…

  1. God, I’m 30 and these thoughts still run through my head.

  2. I never kept a journal throughout college, but I wish I had. I have some old travel journals that I look through from time to time. It’s so fun to look back and read about what was going through your mind at that time.

  3. laylou

    Well that settles it. I am officially still dependent on my parents, too! I called my mom just yesterday to ask her who I should make my beneficiary on my life insurance policy other than my brother. I ask my dad questions about stocks and finances all the time. I guess I should work on that since I’m 25!?

    Thanks for the food for thought today!

  4. Matt

    I still wonder about #5…

  5. mysoundingboard123

    I am 21 right now… And I can so relate to the points you mentioned in your post…. Especially point 1 and 2.
    Its so difficult to fall in love again and not be cynical once you’ve been hurt

  6. mysoundingboard123

    Aint it so nostalgic when you look back at your earlier posts and reminisce about those old days 😉
    TAke care gal ..ciao
    mysoundingboard123.wordpress.com

  7. I think I am officially too old to comment on this post…

  8. I recall going through all of the above in my twenties..now that I am going to be 40 next year I am grateful to have those things well under control!

  9. I love this post! It’s so relevant to what I’m going through, and what so many of my friends are going through right now!

Leave a Reply

