Not Me.

I am not a morning person – never have been, never will be. I am not very domestic. I am not much of a cook although I love watching the Food Network. I am not able to easily define or label myself but I like it better that way. I’m not always confident in myself even when I should be.

I am not as sweet and innocent as people seem to think. I’m not always patient, especially when I’m feeling tired or cranky. I’m not always as happy as I look. I’m not always good at returning phone calls. I’m definitely not always good with directions.

I am not a Mother – I am not a Wife – I am not an Aunt – I am not a Girlfriend.

I am not a fan of seafood, sushi, basketball or doctors offices. I am not a fan of liars, cheaters, people who are fake, ignorant or arrogant. I’m not a fan of debating over politics or religion.

I am not comfortable saying things behind a person’s back that I wouldn’t feel comfortable saying to their face. I am not comfortable being the center of attention… unless maybe I’m drunk. I am not comfortable in my own skin but I’m getting there.

I am not the type to deal well with feeling attacked. I’m not the type to give into peer pressure and I never have been. I am not the type who needs to be the first to finish a project or a test. I am not the type to do a job half ass, even something silly, like wrapping a present. I am not the type to open up to people easily.

I am not a girl with particularly thick skin – especially when it comes to dating. I am not a girl who can handle being a booty call or a friend with benefits. I am not a girl who will settle for anything less than butterflies. I am not a girl who will lose herself when she gets into a new relationship. I am not a girl who will ever forget the importance of her best friends. I am not a girl who needs to be in a relationship.

I’m not the type of girl who falls easily but when I do, I come crashing down. I’m not the type of girl who is secure enough to never get jealous. I’m not the type of girl who likes confrontations but I will stand up for the things I believe in. I’m not the type of girl to hold a grudge or the type of girl who can hide her emotions.

I am not one to fight over the petty things.

I am not one to just brush off hurtful comments.

I am not one to get over a broken heart easily.

I am not a lot things and they are just as important as the things I am.

** I’m also not one to take credit for someone else’s awesome blog idea – Big thanks to Brookem whose great nots post inspired me to write my own – now go read what she is not! 🙂 **

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “Not Me.

  1. I really like this post and we have a lot in common. I tend to peak in the morning although I’m not a morning person. I don’t know how that happened.

  2. Cool post. Makes me wish I could have a beer with you, actually! 🙂

  3. good post!
    maybe it would be easier to define ourselves in terms of what we aren’t, instead of what we are? Thanks for sharing.

  4. Krys

    That was an AMAZING post!! Whoever had the idea, it’s great! And I totally admire your honesty in posting your version of it!! Great!!!

  5. Love this – hurray for being you!

  6. SSG

    a lot of things you’re not… I hope you’re not apologising for any of them! Lets hear about some of the things you ARE and are proud of being. I like this post but maybe it’s my frame of mind i’m finding it a bit negative, as though some one doesn’t think all these are good things. they are good things, they are you! Man, i think i need more sleep. I am zoned out!

  7. Jessica- How strange! I’m definitely a little cranky pants in the morning heh

    Geekhiker – Aw, I wish we could too!

    Laylou- In some ways I think it might be easier to define ourselves by who we are not.

    Krys – Thank you! 🙂

    Princess – Thanks! 🙂

    SSG – I’m definitely not apologizing for any of these things. 🙂 It makes me who I am. And by pointing out the things I am not, I don’t mean it negatively… it’s just most of the time we focus on who we are but you can just as easily define yourself by what you are not.

  8. a0m0y7

    The comment about petty things, at first I thought you said pretty things and I was like why wouldn’t someone fight over pretty things, who doesn’t like pretty things! Fun post.

  9. Hey! You’re also not me, but in a weird way, you kinda are!! Laylou is right – Bless the things we are not, for that is what we are!

    (does that make sense? or is it making me sound like Yoda?!)

  10. I love this idea! We have a lot in common.

  11. mebeingrandom

    This was like reading a post about myself. Aside from the wife, and Aunt, everything else was me!
    Great post, Great writing, Great idea!

  12. Pingback: Happy Birthday to Blog :) « Little Miss Obsessive

Leave a Reply

