Get a Chatroom!

I’m all for a little PDA.  I’ll admit I’m a hand holder, a cuddler, always wanting to have some contact with my guy even in public.  However, I stopped hardcore making out in front of people when I was 17 (ok, drunk make out sessions in bars not withstanding). 

But you know what really grinds my grits? this new form of PDA, electronic PDA or e-PDA if you will.  Specifically, Facebook e-PDA.  I just don’t get it.  Why do I need to read such things as:

Last night was amazing baby, my bed feels so empty without you! 😉

Um, helloooo?  I don’t need a visual of the escapades that took place in your bed last night.. I especially don’t need to be seeing such things on my cousin’s or Aunt Sue’s wall.  Okay, maybe I’ve never seen such a scandalous thing on an Aunt’s wall but I feel like it’s only a matter of time!

Furthermore, why do couples need to confess their love for all the world to see via each others facebook walls. 

Hi Sweetheart!! I just wanted to say you are the most amazing boyfriend ever.  You really truly are the very best my little sunshine!  My life was not complete until you came into it.  I’m never ever ever letting you go pumpkin.  I love you so much and I miss you soo much. KISSSSSSSESSSSS! XOXOXOXO

Even if I was in love, I would not write this sort of message nor would I want someone to write this to me via a public forum like facebook.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for being mushy gushy sometimes through texts or emails, in fact, I love sending and receiving cutesy messages, just not on my Facebook wall for all my friends and family to see. 

Just like I learned that making out in public after a certain age was somewhat distasteful, I feel like leaving such messages on facebook walls is now the equivalent of hardcore making out in a crowded room.

It just comes off as a cry for attention to me.  All “look at how in love and happy I am.  Everyone be jealous of me.”  But it doesn’t make me jealous, it usually just makes me nauseous.  I don’t need to know your pet names for each other:

Babycakes
Shnookie
Wifey
Hubby
Punkin
Muffin
Sugar
Daddy Big One

Please, enough is enough!

Just like I’m all for a little real life PDA, I can be all for a little e-PDA.  A simple “I miss you” “I love you” “Can’t wait to see you”  I find these all perfectly acceptable.  Just like a peck on the lips or holding hands is acceptable.  My issue is that people are hardcore making out on Facebook walls and all I have to say is…

Get a chatROOM!

21 Comments

Filed under e-PDA makes me naus, Random Thoughts

21 responses to “Get a Chatroom!

  1. Wow, reading those quotes just made me throw up in my mouth a little.

  2. Krys

    What I wouldn’t give to pass this along to my brother and his girlfriend. They are the King and Queen respectively of disgusting ePDA. Imagine my horror when I read that she posted this on his Facebook wall: “Hey BooBoo I went to Fredderick’s today and, well let’s just say Daddy has options that will make this weekend a HARD one.” I mean, literally, I passed out and went into a coma for a week from the shock. Did she forget that a Facebook well is public? Is she so trashy she thinks it’s ok to write something like that for the world to read… Did I mention she’s friends with MY MOTHER on FB and my mother can see what she wrote?!

    I just realized she’s probably trying to kill my mother. Makes sense now.

  3. Great post! So funny and so true! I just had a conversation about this not too long ago. My cousin was annoyed that his gf said, “Have a good day!” on his wall. A little extreme…but I get the point.

    What about mushy status updates? Like, “So and so is blessed to have such a sweet, wonderful boyfriend!” ICK!

    • Oh, I know! The freakin status updates. I especially hate ones
      like: “Can’t wait to see my Baby after work!” “1 hour until I see my Baby!”
      “20 minutes until Babycakes” “5 more minutes until I get to go see my Baby”

      WE GET IT! heh

  4. Haha, this cracked me up. Confession: I had to think about this to make sure I’m not a terrible offender of the overly e-PDA stuff. I think the furthest I’ve gone is “I love you!” or something like that. =)

    There are a lot of things that are better for texts, private emails and (gasp!) actually saying it to their face.

    =)

  5. i compleeeeetely agree. every single time i see some annoying comment or wall post full of all that mushy crap i roll my eyes. equally as annoying: people who change their actual myspace names to things such as – “I’M GETTING MARRIED!!” or something else equally as stupid.

    i’m a fan of love-privacy in case you couldn’t tell. 🙂

  6. wow yikes. lol! PDA has reached an all new level i see. why do people have to do that? we all dont want to know about it…especially when beds and love is involved…id be mad considering how my life has been. I mean its fine to say you miss someone or cant wait to see them…but “my bed is empty without u”? icky.

    thanks for the comment! I really like your blog too, looking forward to future posts. 😀

  7. AMEN sister!
    seeeeerrrriously- a little goes a long way.

  8. Hi, nice post. I have been thinking about this issue,so thanks for writing. I’ll definitely be subscribing to your posts.

  9. Ha! So true. Let’s keep the profile pictures and the wall comments tasteful, please. No one wants to see you ram your tongue down your significant other’s throat. Nor do we care about how much you miss/love/want to ram your tongue down your significant other’s throat. Thank you.

  10. ha i agree! and i definitely agree with Geekhiker, stuff like that is so nauseating. And fake! I’m sure its to ward off any competition they might believe to be sniffing around so they’re really marking their territory. Not sure what’s worse – if they do it for that reason, or if its genuine! bleurgh!

  11. Hmmm. All of our ‘pet names’ for each other generally involve highly offensive words… I think his favorite for me is ‘Sugar Tits,’ while I generally keep is simple with “Asshat.”

    Better?

Leave a Reply

