The One Where I Get a Little Sappy

You know what I think one of the very best feelings in the world is?  Real, true, gut wrenching laughter that comes straight from the soul.  There was plenty of that on Saturday night and I remember thinking that I wish I could just bottle up that feeling.  It doesn’t matter what was said or done to cause the laughter, hell a good portion of the night was spent laughing just because the girls had to end every sentence with  “and I had a great day in my pants.”  Boys make up silly rules during a game of Kings.

I don’t know if it’s my new (optimistic) view on life or maybe it was the fact that we were up at a college but life just felt lighter.  It felt more carefree, like before people were getting engaged and married and buying houses and working full time.  On Saturday night all I could think of was how lucky I was to have the friends I do and so lucky to have nights like that Saturday night.  And maybe it was the fear that those nights with ALL of my friends being together might be numbered.  Soon we’d start moving, getting married, having families and I just remember thinking, I want to cherish this time.

That night we went out to a lounge and danced our hearts out.  Everyone danced, even the boys.  And the best kind of dancing, the kind of dancing that can only occur when you are completely oblivious to the fact that people might be watching you.  Where you and your girlfriend twirl each other around without a care in the world.  And you sing at the top of your lungs and dance without feeling a bit self conscious.

I didn’t even notice who else was at the bar.  I just saw all my friends.  That might seem like a weird thing to say but a couple years ago when I used to go out, one of the main goals of the night was usually to find a guy.  Maybe just to make out with or maybe to get a date but I would run off with my partner in crime and find boys.  And while that was fun and there are some stories I wouldn’t trade for the world, that time has passed.  These days, I’ve realized

I’d rather spend my nights laughing with my friends and trying to bottle up that favorite feeling of mine.

4 Comments

Filed under Drunken Shenanigans, Here Comes the Sap, I love my friends, My Favorite Things, This is my life

4 responses to “The One Where I Get a Little Sappy

  1. While those nights are few and far between for me due to all of our work schedules, who is married to who and etc etc (hell, some of my friends are on the baby planning wagon!) when they do happen it’s so much fun.

    I love dancing without inhibition.

    Probably a silly question but what is Kings?

  2. If you do figure out a way to bottle it, I’ll be sure to buy some. Maybe a whole darn case. 🙂

  3. Aww I wish there was a way to bottle up that feeling. I sometimes have those moments where I laugh so honestly and purely that I love that feeling and go with it.

  4. Krys

    So sweet.

    I’m going home this weekend to my friends. I hope I get to have a moment like this!!

    Still excited you’re back!

Leave a Reply

