Update from Quarter Life Crisis Land

Turns out that nagging little Quarter Life Crisis Biatch is giving me just the kick in the butt I needed.

Update Resume – Check

Research/Apply to Jobs – Check

Where I want to work: NYC

Where I want to Live: Hoboken

When I want to move out: August/September (or as soon as I find a new job!)

So that’s my plan.

In addition, I have been dieting (and really sticking to it!) and I’ve finally taken a jewelry making class. So lots of positive changes and decisions being made. It feels good. Don’t get me wrong, I do believe I am in the midst of a QLC but I think its a good thing. I think it’s good that I want to make a great life for myself. While things are still very confusing and up in the air, it’s a very exciting time. I’m excited to get a new job and to move out. I’m excited to really stick to my diet and finally get healthy.  I’m excited to finally be learning to make jewelry and getting my creative juices flowing.  I’m excited to see what the future holds but still, the unknown can be scary.

Can we talk about my dating life for a minute?  I might have a plan for everything else but my dating life is a mess.  I feel like I know what I want and what I’m looking for but at the same time, it’s like I’m not ready for it.

I know I want to be with someone who will really appreciate me and treat me how I deserve and love me even though I am a crazy, crazy girl.

And I know I don’t really want to be alone but I’m scared to open up to any new prospects.

And I know I don’t want to talk to guys from my past who have proven to me that they do not care enough about me yet I am drawn to them because at least I know what to expect.

I guess I just feel like my wall is up and I don’t see it coming down anytime soon.  But I guess I have enough other things to think about that dating doesn’t need to be a priority right now.

So, that’s all folks.  My Quarter Life Crisis update in a nut shell.

Eventually everything falls into place…
until then, laugh at the confusion, live for the moment,
and know that everything happens for a reason

5 Comments

Filed under The Quarter Life Crisis

5 responses to “Update from Quarter Life Crisis Land

  1. Way to go on accomplishing so much with regards to resume, job and etc =) It’s never easy to dare to think of a new life, but it’s great once you get there.

    As for the wall/dating situation. It’s totally ok to have your walls up. I suggest trying some casual dating, enjoy yourself, get back in the game a bit. (If you want to, that is.) And once you do that you’ll learn more about what you do and do not want in a guy. From there? When you do meet a guy you really like, he’ll be more than happy to slowly chip away at the walls you’ve built up. You don’t have to let them down quickly/easily. It takes time. (Trust me, I still have some up!)

  2. I think I’d like to go back in time and have my quarter life crisis as a do-over, please.

  3. Searching, Hoping, Living

    I stumbled upon your blog. I have never before written a “response” to anyones blog before but felt it was completely necessary this time around. I can completely relate to all that you are talking about. Thoughts of change are consuming me as well – wanting to move to NYC, get a tatoo, etc. Well, good news is…we can do it! We are young, we are alive, we have the world at our fingertips! Good luck to you.

  4. Hoboken is fun. I have a friend who lives there but works in NYC. I met a cute boy there the last time I visited her. Fun times 😉

Leave a Reply

