Maybe I Think Too Much for My Own Good, Some People Say So, Other People Say No No

Man, am I happy to see this week coming to a close.  It was just a heavy week.  Nothing terrible happened to me but I just felt like this week was filled with sad news and a lot of reflecting.

When I posted about my bad day on Monday I forgot the saddest part – I came into the office to learn that one of my coworkers, a 27 yr old girl called out that morning because her husband had died in his sleep.  They were together for 11 years, he was only 31.  Not only did my heart break for her but it was a reminder of how suddenly people can exit our life.

And it was a tough week in Hollywood as well with Ed McMann, Farrah Fawcett and Michael Jackson all passing.  I’m watching MTV right now and they are doing a tribute to MJ and its breaking my heart.  It makes me sad that the last ten years of his life he has been so greatly scrutinized by the public but now that he is gone, the world is showing there love for him – except that is not what he got to see before he left us.  He will always be one of the greatest pop icons of all time.  I think that when its all said and done people will remember him for being a great artist rather than all the controversy that surrounded him and that’s how it should be.

I was at my friends house on Monday night and she wanted to watch the Jon & Kate announcement, which of course was that they are seperating.  Which led to marriage and divorce being on  my mind a lot this week.  Specifically, the fact that sometimes parents stay together for the kids (which I believe my Mom did for us)  I don’t want to get into the whole thing right now but that has also been on my mind a great deal.

Anyways, if I learned anything this week its to appreciate the people in your life and never take them for granted because things can change and people can be gone in the blink of an eye.

8 Comments

Filed under Here Comes the Sap, Honest to blog, The Hard Stuff

8 responses to “Maybe I Think Too Much for My Own Good, Some People Say So, Other People Say No No

  1. You’re right. Life is too short for bitterness. It’s important to make things right between you and the ones you love.

  2. justcallmenora

    I am so heartbroken about Michael Jackson — he will always be a musical legend and everyone now will always know where they were, what they were doing and who they were with when they heard the news about MJ.

  3. Sad and gloomy week for everyone. I hope the upcoming week is better, and I’m so sorry for your friend’s loss.

  4. Last week was kind of a suckfest, wasn’t it? I have to admit, I’m glad Jon & Kate are calling it quits, at least for the sake of the childen. I hope they can keep their lives off the tv and regroup as they really do need it and their children are all so precious.

    Hope your week is off to a better start. Big hugs, bloggy bff!

  5. Amen to that. Between Hollywood and the Metro accident last week, I am celebrating every breath I take. 🙂

  6. I was kind of amazed at how many celebs died, but then again lots of non-celeb people die everyday and we dont know about it. sad to think about huh?

    i hope this week is much better for you. 🙂

  7. Last week was definitely a week filled with sad news.

    I feel sorry that Jon and Kate’s kids have to deal with the whole separation/divorce thing on national television and I’m even more surprised the Jon and Kate have a the-show-must-go-on attitude through this ordeal.

  8. Mel

    Ha! Nights like that happen – unfortunately…

Leave a Reply

