Taking the Time to Be Thankful…

I’m thankful for my friends, the ones who are there to encourage me when I need it, to talk me back from the ledge when I’m thinking of jumping and to calm my crazy thoughts when I go into overanalyze mode.  They are more than my best friends they are my sisters, they are my soul.

I’m thankful to have a boyfriend who accepts me as I am – who doesn’t think I’m a complete weirdo – well maybe he does, but he actually adores me MORE because of my weirdness.  One who does thoughtful things and makes me feel special… all the time.  One who doesn’t make me cry.  One who goes out of his way to treat my friends just as well as he treats me.  One who plain old gets me and my craziness.  So thankful to have finally gotten lucky. 

I’m thankful for my family.  We aren’t perfect but we love each other.  We band together when we need to.  I’m lucky to have parents who put their children before themselves.  Who spent their lives trying to provide a wonderful life for my sister and I.  As I grow older, I realize not everyone is lucky enough to have parents like that.

I’m thankful for the professors and coworkers who are writing me recommendations for grad school.  Life is busy and not everyone is willing to give up their time for other people.  So these people, helping me go after what I want, is so appreciated, they have no idea.

I”m thankful that my Mom does not fully support my choice to go back to grad school.  She wants me to be happy but she’s worried for me, financially and otherwise.  But I’ve spent my life complying with the views of my Mom and its time to make a decision on my own.  And knowing that I don’t have her full support scares me but it makes it all the more important that I stand by my decision.

I’m thankful for The Ex and the things I know I will never put up with ever again after being with him.  I’m thankful that after going through that storm, I can appreciate the great thing I have now even more.

I’m thankful for this blog, my outlet.  The place I let my Crazy out.  My outlet for getting over The Ex.  I’m thankful for my blog friends, the ones I can count on for advice or to write a post that reaches my heart or motivates me or makes me laugh or just puts things in perspective.

I’m thankful for dark chocolate. Weight Watchers. Wii. LOST. chick peas. love. life. laughter. pictures. memories.  movies. having a JOB. having a free place to live. having people who love me in my life. dunkachinnos. finding the courage to take a risk.

AND FOR YOU, MY READERS, on the other end of this little corner of the internets who take the time to read my silly little thoughts.  Thank you.

3 Comments

Filed under Random Thoughts

3 responses to “Taking the Time to Be Thankful…

  1. Aw, this is beautiful.
    It’s great to have so many things to be thankful for, isn’t it?
    Love you!

  2. walkingonsunshine18

    Isn’t Thanksgiving a great time to reflect about what’s really important? Great post!

  3. This is amazing. Your family, friends and boyfriend sure sound like they love and care for you a lot. Lucky woman, you can deal with anything with people like them backing you up 🙂

    Happy thanksgiving 😀

Leave a Reply

