Some 2 0 1 0 Resolutions.

Two thousand and ten (well, at least that’s how I say it) It has a nice ring to it, don’t you think? 🙂  A brand spankin new year, filled with promise.  I don’t know exactly what this year has in store for me but all I can do is hope for good things, no, actually I hope for really awesome things.  As I said in my last post, I feel like 2009 was a really great year for me, filled with personal growth and I think the goals/resolutions I have for myself this year will help keep the momentum going.  Oh, the possibilities, I am excited.

Find outlets for my creativity – Ever since my girl scout days, I have always loved crafting and using my creativity so this is a big goal for me this year.  I feel like I have all this creative energy pent up and not enough outlets to let it out.  First, I’d really  like to learn to crochet/knit.  There is a store right near my boyfriend’s house that offers classes so I’m going to look into those (so excited!).  I also want to continue to learn more about jewelry making, which I started this year.  And finally, I’ve been really wanting a DSLR camera for awhile now and I’m thinking of putting my Christmas money towards one.  I loved the photography class I took my senior year of college and I feel like I would use my camera SO MUCH MORE if it was digital.  If anyone has any suggestions for a good starter DSLR, feel free to let me know. 🙂  I’m really excited at all the possibilities to create and maybe next year I will be ready to open my own Etsy shop!

Get in shape/lose weight – This was a resolution last year and pretty much the only one that I 100% failed.  I’m still not off to a good start this year either.  What’s it going to take?  I need to get a grip because the last two and a half years have been a steady increase in weight and a steady decrease in the amount of excercise I get.  I sit all day long at my job; I need to get up and get active.  The hardest part is starting – I just need to find my motivation – where, oh where, are you hiding mister motivation!?  I put “get in shape” before “lose weight” because that truly comes first this year.  It’s not all about how I look anymore (although I’m not so happy about that either).  It’s just I feel very out of shape and I don’t like it.  Once it gets a little nicer out I’d really like to start running (Couch to 5K program).  I have always struggled with running so it will be a real challenge for me but I think that will actually help.  I like to be working TOWARDS something so having a strict plan might just be exactly what I need.  So, running at least one 5k is a big resolution for me this year and I really hope I follow through.

Finish applying to grad school – Ok, plain and simple – the process is annoying.  Seriously, every school wants something different from you.  I feel like I’m on a scavenger hunt to just decode exactly what the program requirements are.  Sometimes, I just want to say ughhhh, fuck it.  But I just need to buckle down and finish the rest of these applications.  The most annoying part is getting the recommendations.  I hate having to ask the recommenders over and over to submit their letters BUT I just need to do what needs to be done and stop putting things off.  One school down, five to go!

Be happy & appreciative for everything I have – I really would like to start a gratitude journal and list a few things every day or every few days that I’m thankful for.  I feel like it would really help put things in a positive perspective for me.  I already make an active attempt to be grateful for everything in my life but I think writing it all down would just take it to a new level. 🙂

What are your resolutions?

11 Comments

Filed under All Things Listy, Warm Fuzzy Feelings

11 responses to “Some 2 0 1 0 Resolutions.

  1. I’m sort of in love with my DSLR, the Nikon D5000. It’s definitely a “starter” camera. You should look into it 🙂

  2. Perhaps you could ask your reference letter folks if they can make several signed copies for you so you don’t have to keep pestering them? Or ask your bloggy friends for recommendations =)

    Good luck with running; I am signing up for a 10 mile race in May so that’s my motivation to get back into it. That and realizing that it doesn’t all happen over night even though I wish it would!

    Can’t wait to hear more about the knitting thing. I’m definitely curious about it!

  3. I really, really want to be able to finish the half marathon I signed up for in May.

    I want to quit my job and work on my photography business.

    I want to get married in Jamaica and have this amazing girl I know take the pictures and party it up with me. 🙂

  4. I know how it feels to slowly slide down that slippery slope of getting out of shape. It takes twice the time to get back to where you were than it took you to slack off. Anyone, I promise you once you find that motivation its worth it! Its awesome that you are taking a crochet/knitting class. That is something I have really been wanting to try. You’ll have to keep us updated on that 🙂

  5. Forget running. Go for a hike. 😉

  6. sounds like a great list! wishing you lots of good things for 2010! (i say it two thousand and ten too, none of this twenty ten business!)

  7. I love my Nikon D40. I’m still learning how to use it but it’s awesome.

    Good luck with your goals! I also want to do more creative things. I dabble in a little of everything but never spend enough time on one thing.

  8. Best of luck reaching your goals and with the grad school apps. I know it can be quite daunting and I only applied to one. In the span of three days (it was a last minute decision).

  9. andhari

    I like the last resolution so much. All resolutions we’ve made are great but in the end, being happy is what matters the most. Good luck for achieving them and I wish you a happy 2010 🙂

  10. Ken

    Less talkin’. More rockin’.

Leave a Reply

